Universal algebra over lambda-terms and nominal terms: the connection in logic between nominal techniques and higher-order variables

By Murdoch J. Gabbay and Dominic P. Mulligan, from LFMTP 2009, available from Murdoch J. Gabbay’s website:

This paper develops the correspondence between equality reasoning with axioms using λ-terms syntax, and reasoning using nominal terms syntax. Both syntaxes involve name-abstraction: λ-terms represent functional abstraction; nominal terms represent atomsabstraction in nominal sets.

It is not evident how to relate the two syntaxes because their intended denotations are so different. We use universal algebra, the logic of equational reasoning, a logical foundation based on an equality judgement form which is spartan but which is sufficiently expressive to encode mathematics in theory and practice.

We investigate how syntax, algebraic theories, and derivability relate across λ-theories (algebra over λ-terms) and nominal algebra theories.

5 Responses to “Universal algebra over lambda-terms and nominal terms: the connection in logic between nominal techniques and higher-order variables”


  1. 1 storage units May 24, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    I all the time used to read paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user of net therefore from now I am using
    net for posts, thanks to web.

  2. 2 spine doctors May 30, 2013 at 6:56 pm

    It’s truly very complex in this active life to listen news on TV, so I simply use the web for that reason, and take the newest information.

  3. 3 http://homesecuritydeals.com/ June 3, 2013 at 10:08 am

    An interesting discussion is worth comment. I believe that you ought to publish more about this issue,
    it might not be a taboo matter but generally folks don’t speak about these topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

  4. 4 best home security June 9, 2013 at 11:33 pm

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog
    like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet savvy so I’m
    not 100% positive. Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks

  5. 5 zottel.zo.funpic.de July 22, 2013 at 3:10 am

    Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!


Leave a Reply

